Skip to main content

Officers of the Inn

Benchers are elected by Parliament each year to non-executive offices of the Inn through which they provide Bench-level oversight of the Inn’s affairs.


2024 Officers of the Inn


Paul Darling OBE KC

Deputy Treasurer:

The Rt Hon Lady Justice Thirlwall DBE

Deputy Treasurer Elect:

Bernard Richmond KC

Lent Reader:  

His Honour Judge Philip Bartle KC

Autumn Reader

His Honour David Stockdale KC

Director of Middle Temple Advocacy:  

Stephen Lloyd Esq

Master of the Archive

Patric Dickinson LVO

Master of the Garden:  

Adrienne Page KC

Master of the House:  

Timothy Saloman KC

Master of the Library:  

The Hon Mrs Justice Maura McGowan

Masters of Moots:  

The Hon Mr Justice Martin Chamberlain and Kate Grange KC

Master of Music:  

Robert-Jan Temmink KC

Master of the Revels:  

His Honour Judge Philip Bartle KC 

Master of the Silver:  

John Leslie Esq

Master of the Wine:

Christiane Valansot

Master of Statutes:

Sir Jonathan Jones KCB KC