Skip to main content

Lechmere Essay Prize

Applications now open. Please see below for details.

One prize of £500 may be awarded every year for an essay from a member of the Middle Temple on a prescribed topic of not more than 3,000 words. The word count does not include footnotes, but footnotes should be used for pure reference purposes and not include analysis. 

Submissions will be accepted from members of the Inn who are students or newly Called and looking for pupillage, or currently undertaking pupillage. Candidates must intend to practise at the Bar of England and Wales.

Entries must be typed and clearly marked with the entrant’s name and student number. They must be accompanied by an electronically signed and dated copy of the declaration which is provided with the essay topics. Entries must be sent to the Scholarships Officer, Madeleine Cirdei, at

The Guidance on Plagiarism and Note on Penalties can be found here - please read this carefully.

Applications for the 2020 competition are now open as of 20 July 2020. The deadline has been extended to take into account the August centralised examinations and will now close at 4 p.m. on 25 September 2020. You can find the essay topic in the document entitled 'Lechmere Essay Prize Cover Sheet".


Naseem Naz Khan

Click here to read his essay.


Kavish Shah


Rebecca de Hoest


Thomas Frazer


Natalie Kyneswood

Click here to read her essay.


Kevin Touhey


Yasmin Omotosho


John William Devine