Skip to main content

The Parallel Perspectives Between Malaysia & the United Kingdom

Friday 24th of September 2021 10:30

Location

Online via Zoom

Timings

10:30 (BST) / 17:30 (MYT) to 12:00 (BST) / 19:00 (MYT)

Event Details

A collaboration between The Honourable Society of the Middle Temple, The Malaysia Middle Temple Alumni Association (TMMTA) and Pertubuhan Alumni Rumpun Fakulti Undang-Undang Universiti Malaya (PARFUM) who invite members to join us in this webinar which features speakers from Malaysia and the United Kingdom.

Register on Zoom

Event Programme

10:30 (BST) / 17:30 (MYT) - Welcome Address by the President of PARFUM, Tan Shahrizat Abdul Jalil

10:35 (BST)/ 17:35 (MYT) - Keynote Address by The Rt Hon. The Chief Justice of Malaysia, Tum Tengku Maimun binti Tuan Mat

10:45 (BST) /17:45 (MYT) - The Pandemic, Virtual Courts, Zoom And Then? Master Nallini Pathmanathan (Judge of the Federal Court, Malaysia) and Master David Joseph (Barrister, Essex Court Chambers)

11:20 (BST) / 18:20 (MYT) - The Conundrum of Cross-Legal Culture - To Be Feared or Embraced? Dr Alima Joned (Attorney, Medel Sanfilipo) and Master Michael Bowsher (Barrister, Monckton Chambers). Moderated by Master Cecil Abraham (Senior Partner, Cecil Abraham & Partners)

12:00 (BST) / 19:00 (MYT) - Closing Remarks by TMMTA, Dato' M. Rajasekaran (Management Partner, Raja, Darryl & Loh)

For queries, please contact parfum.tmmta@gmail.com

Qualifying Session Details

Please note that this is NOT a Qualifying Session.

Data Protection & Photography

Please be aware that photography, audio and video recording may take place at our events. These may be used for promotional purposes by the Inn, including in printed publications, on our website, and on our social media accounts. If you do not wish to have your photograph taken or to have images of you used, please alert the EducationTeam at the start of the event. We are unable to guarantee that you will not be included in the background of photographs that are being taken. Contact: 020 7427 4800, education@middletemple.org.uk

All personal data that the Inn stores and processes is held in accordance with the Data Protection Act 2018 and the Inn’s Data Protection Policy. You can ask the Inn to stop using your images at any time, or request to see the personal data that the Inn holds on you. For more information please visit the Data Protection page http://www.middletemple.org.uk/about-us/data-protection

Times and details for this event are subject to change. Please check this webpage for the most up to date information.