Skip to main content

Masters of the Bench

Back to the Bench Directory

The Reverend Robin Griffith-Jones

Full Title: The Reverend Robin Griffith-Jones
Category: Honorary Benchers
Bench Call Date: 7.10.2008

Robin has five Masterships to his name: Master’s degrees at Oxford and then at Cambridge, the Crown appointment as Master of the Temple, and Honorary Bencherships of Inner and Middle Temple.  He worked early on with Mother Theresa’s Sisters in India and with the long-term homeless in London, before returning to university to study theology.  After a Curacy in Liverpool (1989-92), and a Chaplaincy at one Oxford College (Lincoln 1992-9) and a Lectureship in another (Exeter), he was appointed Master of the Temple in 1999.  He has written The Four Witnesses; The Gospel according to Paul; The Da Vinci Code and the Secrets of the Temple, and Mary Magdalene: The Woman Whom Jesus Loved.